What Can Vegans Eat? Need To Know

0

Have you ever wondered to yourself “what can vegans eat?” One’s choice in going vegan has underlying reasons that may or may not be personal for that individual. The decision to eat plant-based foods is a respectable decision so one should not mock other people’s food choice just because people have a different perspective about things and issues around.

One thing is for sure in going vegan, these people do not eat bland and unappealing foods. They eat greens, beans, and fruits which they can opt to eat raw or cook into one unexpected flavourful dish.

What Can Vegans Eat?

What Can Vegans Eat? Need To Know

Fruits and Vegetables

At the top of the list of what can vegans eat are fruits and vegetables. You can consume fruits raw or as an ingredient in an elaborate dish. When eating fruits raw, vegans consume it as it is. They do not eat bananas with Nutella or strawberries with yogurt or cream unless they are pairing it with vegan-friendly versions. 

As for the vegetables, vegans need to eat varieties of it to balance the nutrients they source from these greens. For example, kales are rich in antioxidants, minerals like Calcium and vitamins A, C, and K. Other variations offer different sets of nutrients so make sure to get a good dose of each. Veggies can be eaten raw, as an ingredient of a dish, or a salad with vegan-friendly dressings.

Legumes, Seeds, and Nuts

What Can Vegans Eat? Need To Know

Because going vegan means food is sourced from plant-based alternatives only, a good source of protein will be legumes, seeds, nuts, and their by-products. These are not only protein-rich but also low in fat. You can also experience the wonders of lentils, chickpeas, black beans, pinto beans, split peas, peanuts, and the beans’ endless variety. Make them into a soup, salad, or stew.

Tofu is derived from soybeans, and this food is one versatile ingredient that can be made into snacks, viands, salads, and desserts.

Whole Grains

Whole grains can create wonders in food preparation for vegans because they can be used to make vegan-friendly bread and pasta. Whole-grain foods include whole-wheat bread, pasta, brown rice, oats, millet, barley, quinoa, wild rice, and more. These are good sources of fiber and carbohydrates that will fuel up a vegan’s day.

What Can’t Vegans Eat?

What Can Vegans Eat? Need To Know

It is pretty basic to know that vegans do not eat anything of animal origin. They avoid all kinds of meat – red and white, as well as fish, shellfish, eggs, dairy products, and honey for some too. Although there are vegan diet types that consume either eggs or dairy products, or both, theoretically speaking, these foods are avoided by vegans who strictly follow the diet’s concept.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.